IMF wants personal bankruptcy law in Hungary but not in Romania. Why?

Few weeks ago I wrote a post about the benefits of personal bankruptcy law for the Romanian economy. At that time I was told that it IMF told Romania not to introduce such a law.  Here is what protfolio.hu says IMF is asking Hungary to do to get a credit line:
– restoring the central bank’s independence;
– reinforcing the Fiscal Council;
– stricter fiscal policy, especially on the expenditure side;
– considerable reduction to crisis taxes and their eventual phasing out;
– putting a stop to implementing ad-hoc economic policy measures;
– seeing through the previously announced reform measures;
– overhaul of the system of social transfers;
– restructuring of public transport companies;
– introducing the institution of consumer bankruptcy.

The last point is exactly what I was proposing for Romania. I am glad IMF agrees with me but for measures that would be applied to Hungary and not to Romania.

Then I need to ask: why is this good for Hungary and not for Romania?

To be honest I am impressed with the IMF requests.  They are pro-market and guaranteed to deliver sustainable economic growth. Too bad they are not asking them from the Romanian Government also.

One thought on “IMF wants personal bankruptcy law in Hungary but not in Romania. Why?

Leave a comment